United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs Sustainable Development

Ministerial Session (continued): STI policies and initiatives for sustainable development - best practices and lessons learned

Wed 05 May 2021, 9.00 am
Virtual Event (NYC time)


(Interprefy) (UN webcast)


Ministerial statements

China: His Excellency Wang ZHIGANG, Minister of Science and Technology [Statement English, Chinese] [Video]

Belarus: His Excellency Alexander SHUMILIN, Chairman of the State Committee on Science and Technology [Statement] [Video]

Thailand: His Excellency Anek LAOTHAMATAS, Minister of Higher Education, Science, Research and Innovation [Statement] [Video]

Kenya: His Excellency Joseph MUCHERU, Cabinet Secretary for Information, Communication and Technology, Innovation and Youth Affairs [Statement]

Pakistan: His Excellency Shibli FARAZ, Minister of Science and Technology [Video]

El Salvador: His Excellency Vladimir HANDAL, Secretary of Innovation [Statement] [Video]

Brazil: His Excellency Marcos PONTES, Minister of Science, Technology and Innovations 

Paraguay: His Excellency Eduardo FELIPPO, Minister-President of the National Council of Science and Technology [Video]

Japan: His Excellency Inoue SHINJI, Minister for the World Expo 2025, Minister of State for the Intellectual Property Strategy and Minister of State for Science and Technology Policy [Video]

Zambia: His Excellency Brian MUSHIMBA, Minister of Higher Education [Statement] [Video]

Lithuania: Her Excellency Egle MARKEVICIUTE, Vice-Minister of Economy and Innovation [Video]

Cuba: His Excellency José Fidel SANTANA NÚÑEZ, First Deputy Minister of Science, Technology and Environment [Statement English, Spanish] [Video]

United Arab Emirates: Her Excellency Sarah AL AMIRI, Minister of State for Advanced Technology at the Ministry of Industry and Advanced Technology [Statement] [Video]

Republic of Korea: His Excellency Jong-moon CHOI, Second Vice-Minister of Foreign Affairs [Statement] [Video]

Chile: Her Excellency Pamela GIDI, Vice-Minister of Telecommunications [Statement] [Video]

Argentina: Ms. Carolina Susana VERA, Head of Cabinet of the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation [Statement]

United States of America: Ms. Allison SCHWIER, Acting Science and Technology Advisor to the Secretary of State 

Belgium: Her Excellency Barbara TRACHTE, State Secretary for Economic Transition and Scientific Research, Brussels-Capital-Region (regional government of Belgium) [Statement]

Other inputs (no intervention): 

Webcast Video: