Expert Group Meeting on Exponential Technological Change, Automation, and Their Policy Implications for Sustainable Development

Mexico City, Mexico, 6 to 8 December 2016

Co-organized by DESA, ECLAC, and the Government of Mexico

List of Participants

EXPERTS

Mr. Andrew Maynard, Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society in Arizona State University, United States

Ms. Ann Kingiri, Senior Research Fellow, African Centre for Technology Studies, Kenya

Mr. Arturo Borja, Deputy Director General, Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT), Mexico

Ms. Bitrina Diyamett, Executive Director, Science, Technology and Innovation Policy Research Organization, Tanzania

Mr. Bart Verspagen, Director-Dean of the Maastricht Graduate School of Governance (MGSoG) at Maastricht University and Director of United Nations University – Maastricht Economic and Social Research Institute on Innovation and Technology (UNU-MERIT)

Mr. Carlos Casasús, Director General, Corporación Universitaria para el Desarrollo de Internet (CUDI), Mexico

Mr. Carlos Elizondo Mayer-Serra , Professor at the ITESM School of Government and Public Transformation, Monterrey, Mexico

Mr. Carlos Jesús Mercadillo, Aguirre Innovación, Mexico

Mr. Edgar Barroso, Professor, Instituto Tecnológico de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey, Campus Santa Fe, Mexico

Mr. Edmundo Molina, Professor, Instituto Tecnológico de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey, Campus Santa Fe, Mexico

Mr. Enrique Cabrero, Director General, CONACYT, Mexico

Ms. Faye Duchin, Professor of Economics at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA

Ms. Gabriela Dutrénit Bielous, Professor, Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana, Mexico

Mr. lasías Elizarrarás, Director, Ministry of Education, Mexico

Mr. Jaime Parada, President, Academia de Ingeniería, Mexico

Mr. James Bessen, Lecturer in Law at the Boston University School of Law, United States (via video)

Mr. Jose Ramon Lopez-Portillo, Professor, Oxford University, United Kingdom

Ms. Julia Tagüeña, Deputy Director General, CONACYT, Mexico

Ms. Laura Palomares, Professor, Institute of Biotechnology, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Mexico

Mr. Ludovico Alcorta, Director, Research and Statistics Branch of the United Nations Industrial Development Programme (UNIDO)

Mr. Luis Alfonso Villa, Instituto Politécnico Nacional (IPN), Mexico

Mr. Michael Zichy, Assistant Professor, Department of Philosophy at the Faculty of Catholic Theology, University of Salzburg, Austria

Ms. Patricia Zúñiga, Executive Director, Academia de Ingeniería, Mexico

Mr. Raymond Torres, Director, International Institute of Labour Studies (via video)

Ms. Rebecca Hanlin, Innovation and Development Specialist for AfricaLics based at African Centre for Technology Studies, Nairobi, Kenya

Mr. Rob Atkinson, President, Information Technology and Innovation Foundation, United States (via video)

Mr. Rolando Cordera, Professor, UNAM, Mexico

Mr. Sergio Alcocer Martínez de Castro, President, México Exponencial, Mexico

Mr. Víctor Carreón, CONACYT, Mexico

Mr. Xingquan Wang, Associate Professor, Director of Research Center on Knowledge Management and Chief Expert of Think Tank "Creative Economy", Institute of Information Sciences, Shanghai Academy of Social Sciences, China

Mr. Zhang Chenggang, Professor & Vice dean, School of Social Sciences, Director, Research Center for Social Innovation and Risk Management, Tsinghua university, Beijing, China

MEMBER STATES

MEXICO

H.E. Mr. Miguel Ruíz Cabañas, Undersecretary for Multilateral Affairs and Human Rights, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Ms. Norma Munguía, Director General for Global Issues, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Damaso Luna, Deputy Director General for Sustainable Development, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Ms. Adriana Carmona, Chief of Department for Exponential Technology, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

UNITED NATIONS SECRETARIAT

Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)

Mr. Hugo Eduardo Beteta, Director, Sub regional headquarters in Mexico

Mr. Wilson Perés, Senior Economic Affairs Officer, Division of Production, Productivity and Management

United Nations Department for Economic and Social Affairs

Mr. Lenni Montiel, Assistant Secretary-General for Economic Development

Mr. Richard Alexander Roehrl, Senior Economic Affairs Officer, Division for Sustainable Development

Mr. Clovis Freire, Economic Affairs Officer, Division for Sustainable Development