

21 June 2022

Excellency,

I have the honour to refer to General Assembly resolution 76/203 and its annex regarding the Regulations governing the United Nations Small Island Developing States Partnerships Awards, in particular, Article 4 sub-paragraph 2 on selection of laureates, according to which,

"The President of the General Assembly shall select the members of the judging panel, pursuant to nominations received from the Co-Chairpersons of the Steering Committee, for a period of two years. The panel shall comprise of the following:

- a) One representative from the Co-Chairpersons of the Steering Committee, who will chair;
- b) One representative from each of the three regions of small island developing States;
- c) Two representatives from the major groups and other relevant stakeholders."

In this regard, and pursuant to the nominations I have received from the Co-Chairpersons of the Steering Committee on Partnerships for Small Island Developing States based on their consultations with Member States from the three regions of Small Island Developing States, the major groups and other relevant stakeholders, I have the honour to appoint the following members of the judging panel for a period of two years.

Mr. Afonso Lages, Permanent Mission of Portugal to the UN, who shall chair the panel

Mr. Isaia Lautasi, Permanent Mission of Samoa to the UN

Mr. Tumasie Blair, Permanent Mission of Antigua and Barbuda to the UN

Ms. Sandra Fortes, Permanent Mission of Cabo Verde to the UN

Ms. Losana Tuiraviravi, Fiji Women's Rights Movement

Mr. Darian Stibbe, The Partnering Initiative as representative

Furthermore, pursuant to Article 4 sub-paragraph 3 of the Annex to resolution 76/203, I have the further honour to inform that Mr. Sainivalati S. Navoti, Chief of the SIDS Unit, UNDESA and Ms. Tishka Francis, Head of SIDS Sub-Programme, UNOHRLLS will act as ex officio members on the panel.

Please accept, Excellency, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Abdulla SHAHID

Jahalla Mank

All Permanent Representatives And Permanent Observers to the United Nations New York